That dreaded ring

Oh God, that must be the camp’s number.  Wonder what happened?

I took a deep breath and picked up my cell phone.

“Hello?” I said cautiously.  Wincing in advance.  Prepared to hear bad news.  The Roc got into it with another camper, or he’s being defiant, or is refusing to do what they’ve got on the schedule, or he’s having a meltdown over something they cannot decipher, or he is crying and wants to come home, or he fell off a boat, fell in the mud, hurt himself, is bleeding, is screaming…what if they lost him?

All in the two seconds it took to unlock my phone and answer it.

“Hello, this is            from camp!  Can I speak to Kim?”

Oh crap, oh crap, oh crap

“This is Kim.”

Oh crap, oh crap, oh crap.

“Hi, I was with the Roc yesterday at camp, (Oh crap, oh crap, oh crap) and I’m just calling to tell you that he…. (Oh crap, oh crap, oh crap) seems to be adjusting well and having a good time.  He was getting along with the other kids and had a great time collecting rocks down by the lake yesterday.”

….

“Oh!  That’s great!  Thank you!” I said after a two second stunned pause.

“Do you have any questions for me?  Anything you want to know or are concerned about?”  she asked.

“….um…nope!  I’m just so glad to hear that he’s having fun!” I said, wondering if there are questions better, more prepared parents ask.  “I’m just so relieved that you weren’t calling to tell me something bad…” I trailed off.

“Oh no!  This is just a courtesy call to let you know he’s doing great!”

“Okay, then that’s all I need to know!”

Whew.

Guess I have some reprogramming to do.

 

3 thoughts on “That dreaded ring

  1. I do the same thing when the school calls. I do have 2 other children that attend that school and when I hear it’s about them, I do a silent sigh!! 🙂 Oh, and don’t sell yourself short – other parents aren’t better or more prepared. I’ve learned it’s impossible to prepare for every little thing in life. Glad he’s doing well!! And I’m glad you are getting some down time too…

Leave a Reply

