Marbles + Battleships

“Mommy, I made up an imaginary game called Battleships.  Do you want to play?  There are lots of rules to this game.  It’s pretty hard.  Are you listening?  I hope you are listening.  Now this is the ship and you need to knock those posts down with the squishy ball and I will be the guard.  Go!”

IMG_9149

IMG_9155

“Mommy, I have another game we can play.  Marbles!  I’ll show you.  You just gently roll the marbles and if you hit the other person’s block you get a point!  See?!”

IMG_9210

Being stuck inside all winter (and we’ve still had winter in APRIL!) has led the Roc to come up with his own games.  He is happy to play them with anyone, but watch out, the kid is competitive and he doesn’t like to lose.  It’s awesome to see him expanding, using his imagination, coming up with things completely on his own.

So proud of him.

7 thoughts on “Marbles + Battleships

  1. Very cool! I always love your Roc stories.

    Our being stuck inside all winter has also led to creativity…not so much games but making plays and musicals and recording them on an OLD VHS camera. All the same, it’s “awesome to see him expanding, using his imagination, coming up with things completely on his own” whatever form that takes 🙂

  2. That is wonderful to see! Reading your posts about Roc always encourages me…I see my son in him, although he is 5. It helps open my eyes to where he could be in a few years!

Leave a Reply

