3 Holiday Laughs

3 situations that had me chuckling to myself this week:

I ran into the Roc’s special ed teacher as I was leaving the school after volunteering in the Roc’s classroom on Tuesday.  We walked down the hall together and she said to me,

“You’re house must really smell…” and felt my eyes widen as I wondered how she was going to finish that sentence, “with all that garlic on your Christmas tree!”

I instantly knew what she was talking about as I heard the Roc’s voice in my head.

“Oh, Garland!” I laughed as she said, “It took me a minute to figure out what he was talking about.  He’s such a cutie and he insisted it was garlic, not garland.”

***

The Roc was quietly singing Jingle Bells while I loaded a movie for him to watch.  I turned around and asked him to sing louder, and sure enough,

“Jingle Bells, Jingle Bells, Jingle all the way.  Oh what fun it is to ride in a wondrous sleigh, HEY!”

I giggled, but didn’t correct him.  I would like to ride in a wondrous sleigh too.

***

As gifts arrive from our far away relatives I place them under the Christmas tree and the Roc has been very excited about the presents with his name on them.  One of his gifts had a teeny, tiny tear in the wrapping paper and he spent some time trying to peer into that little hole.  Yesterday I was on my computer upstairs and could hear the unmistakable sound of paper slowly ripping.  I tiptoed to the railing and looked down into the family room.  There he is with that certain gift…

Later when I asked him if he was looking at the presents under the tree he said, “Yes!  Guess what Mommy?  The hole got bigger in that present!”

“Hmmm, I wonder how that happened?” I asked.

“I stuck my finger in there and tore it,” he replied.

“So what’s in there?” I asked.

“It looks pink.  I think it might be a pink dress.  It says my name on it, but I don’t want a dress.”

I love his honesty.  Any other kid would have lied and said they didn’t do it, someone else did, or the dog ripped it.  That’s what I would have done at his age!

 

3 thoughts on “3 Holiday Laughs

  1. He’s pure of heart and not afraid of you so he can tell the truth. Plus, he’s on the spectrum, so he’s not programmed to lie! Love it. Hope he had a fabulous Christmas and that this is the best year yet for you guys!

  2. Pingback: Holidays, a Recap « The Roc Chronicles

Leave a Reply

