Say Yes

*

“Mommy, do you hear that noise?”

“Oh the drain isn’t pushed down far enough.  That’s the water going out.  I”ll fix it.”

“Mommy did it stop?”

“I don’t hear it.”

“Did it stop?”

“Do you hear it?”

“Did it stop?”

“I don’t hear it anymore.”

“Did it stop?”

“I think so.”

“Did it stop?”

“Yes.”

*

“Mommy?  Did I have a long bath?”

“I don’t think so Roc.”

“Did I have a long bath?”

“Do you think you’ve had a long bath?”

“Did I have a long bath?”

“You’ve been in for 10 minutes.  Is that long enough?”

“Did I have a long bath?”

“Are you ready to get out?”

“Did I have a long bath?”

“Are you done?”

“Did I have a long bath?”

“….Yes.”

“I’m ready to get out.”

*

“Mommy, where are my cousins?”

“I think they are at tennis lessons.”

“Are they at tennis?”

“I think so.”

“Are they at tennis?”

“Probably.”

“Are they at tennis?”

“If it’s not raining they sure are.”

“Are they at tennis?”

“It’s 9 o’clock, I think they are.”

“Are they at tennis?”

“Yup.”

“Are they at tennis?”

“…Yes.”

*

“Is Matthew going to come with us to the park?”

“He said he would.”

“Is Matthew coming to the park with us?”

“I think so.”

“Is Matthew coming to the park with us?”

“If he wants to.”

“Is Matthew coming to the park with us?”

“Probably.”

“Is Matthew coming to the park with us?”

“…Yes.”

*

“Look Mommy, I drawed a water slide.  Look at it, is that what I am going to have at my birthday party?”

“Hmmm..we’ll have to see ok?”

“Am I going to have that water slide?”

“I don’t know, I have to call a rental place and find out what they have.”

“Am I going to have that water slide?”

“Maybe.”

“Am I going to have that water slide?”

“Something very similar I’m sure.”

“Am I going to have that water slide?”

“It’s possible.”

“Am I going to have that water slide?”

“…Yes.”

*

5 conversations from today.  Recorded while I happened to be sitting at my computer.  I’m sure we had 20 more just like these during the course of the day.

When will I learn?

Just say YES.

7 thoughts on “Say Yes

  1. OMG, this so spoke to me because Jack will ask me a questions and I’ll say “uh huh” and he’ll say “does that mean yes?” and I’ll say “sure” and he says “does that mean yes?” and I’ll say “ummhmmm” and he’ll say “does that mean yes?”

    Just say yes already, Stimey. Duh.

  2. 🙂
    Aaron and I have conversations like that regularly too. Although today, it was no rather than yes. I kept saying, things like nope and I don’t think so…he finally said, “the correct answer is no sir.”

Leave a Reply

