Easter Recap

We are not traditionalists around here, nor are we particularly religious, so when the young man at Trader Joes asked me if I was going to be celebrating Easter (after calling me Miss instead of the usual Mama, yay!) I stuttered and said, “Yes, well sort of… we do something for my son.  I guess he celebrates the Easter Bunny.”  It’s true, we’re heathens, and I’m okay with that.  For now the Roc thinks Easter is about a giant bunny who sneaks into our house at night, leaving plastic eggs and presents.  He is very much like Santa, and in no way does the Roc want his picture taken with him.

I woke up before 6 am on Easter, because I am the Easter bunny and since we have 4 cats, I have to lock them in the basement to hide the eggs, otherwise we would hear the plastic rolling across the wood floor all night followed by thumping and running.  I had wrapped the few gifts in the only wrapping paper we have at the moment, Christmas wrapping paper.  I figured I would just tell him the Easter bunny wraps the gifts here before he hides the eggs and it was the only paper he could find, which is true, if he happened to ask.  After hiding the eggs and with the cats safely meowing behind the door to the basement, I went back to sleep, only to be woken up by, “Mommy, the Easter Bunny came!  There are eggs!  LOOK!  There’s a present!”  And so we began our morning.

The Roc was thrilled to follow the little trails I made to each of his 5 presents (new ball, a couple sets of markers, a game, and a toy helicopter) and he had to open each egg in which I had placed either jelly beans or little jelly candies.

He truly enjoyed the process this year, and actually cared more about what was under the wrapping paper than the paper itself, which is a step up the progress ladder.  We did let him have a few candies, but luckily he doesn’t seem to associate these kinds of holidays with candy consumption, a pleasing side affect to having done the GFCF diet for a few years.

Even though there are things we have to do around the house to prepare for our move and the grass is almost taller than our little boston terrier, we decided to head down to the beach.  We won’t have many chances left before we move to the middle of the country in a few weeks.  It was deceptively warm, and when we go onto the sand and saw some kids playing in the water GC went down to get his feet wet.  It was not warm enough!

We had a picnic lunch and then went walking.  The Roc just loves the beach.  It is one of the things I am going to miss about this area.

It was a nearly perfect day capped off by a bubble bath, another rare treat for the Roc.

6 thoughts on “Easter Recap

  1. OMG, the gap-toothed grin with the bubble beard cracked me up! But the rest, the idea of you moving in a few weeks? Made me cry. We need to get the boys to the beach together before you go!

  2. We do a very similar heathen Easter. For some reason Pudding thinks it is Easter’s birthday, so we just go with that- it means we get cake too, My pics were nowhere near as good as yours though. The Roc is scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

