Scenes I Should have Photographed + The 4th

I didn’t pick up my camera much last weekend, which is so unlike me, isn’t it?  Now as I think back over the weekend there are a few situations that would be so perfectly described with some photos.  Oh well, it did feel good to rest instead of trying to capture the perfect shot.  I guess you will just have to imagine what it was like when we took the Roc out to dinner on Friday night (what were we thinking going out to eat at 7 pm on a Friday night?) and he polished off not one, but TWO baskets of corn chips all by himself.  He didn’t share.  I enjoyed a well deserved margarita, Cajun popcorn shrimp, and blackened catfish fajitas while he stuffed himself to the gills with corn.  The noise level was so loud in the restaurant that we had to yell at each other to carry on a conversation and GC ended up translating between the Roc and me as he was seated directly across the table from me, and even though I could see his face screwed up into his “I’m about to blow a gasket” face and his lips were stretched thin over his teeth while he writhed around in his seat…I couldn’t hear him.  What a blessing.  The margarita helped.  Another blessing:  GC’s middle brother Marcello was in town for the weekend after being in the DC area on business.

Lucky him.

He got to help GC install a new sink, garbage disposal, and faucet in our kitchen.  I repeat: lucky him (and SUPER DUPER LUCKY ME.)  Here’s a little something you might not know about my husband: he has temper tantrums.  They aren’t pretty.  They resemble the Roc’s temper tantrums, only with really colorful cuss words thrown in instead of the phrases the Roc uses when he’s mad like, “It’s a PLAYGROUND!!!”  or  “It’s a MARE!!”  (I have no clue what that last one is, as I don’t think he knows that a mare is a horse.)  I lovingly jab refer to his temper tantrums as “hissy fits” or “spaz attacks,” neither descriptors make GC happy.  But both are accurate labels to describe the huffing, puffing, groaning, grunting, cursing, foaming at the mouth in frustration episodes he has when trying to do something “handy” around the house.  I will admit to being greatly annoyed by what I view to be childish behavior, and I don’t understand how GC hasn’t connected the fact that the Roc totally takes after him with the whole lack of patience/low tolerance for frustration thing, but I’m learning not to worry that GC won’t figure something out.  Even when he gave up on Saturday night, saying the disposal was going to have to go back to the store because he couldn’t get it attached, that we were going to have to call a plumber because something was leaking.  That even though it seemed simple, he “JUST COULDN’T DO IT!”  Oh was he TICKED.  He plopped himself down on the couch in a foul mood.  I patted him on the shoulder while he sulked, rolled my eyes at Marcello (behind GC’s back, sorry babe) and said good night.  I knew he wouldn’t let go of the problem until he figured it out.  Sunday morning GC told me he knew what he was doing wrong, he had found a video on the internet while he was seething with his iPad on the couch the night before, and sure enough, he fixed something simple and everything worked out.  Some photos to document the process would have been a nice touch, it wouldn’t have been appreciated at the time, and I would have more pictures of GC glaring at the camera, but it would have been funny.  I wish I had at least snapped a photo of Marcello shining the flashlight for GC and giving me this look that summarized how I feel when GC starts spazzing out.

Oh brother.

Get. A. Grip. Dude.

Seriously?

(and if it seems as if I’m “throwing GC under the bus” here – I’m not.  He will readily admit to having a “temper.”  Just ask him.)

And then there’s the 4th of July.  I got my camera out that evening,  (so here come the pictures.)  The Roc spent the afternoon at the pool and willingly came home when I mentioned that our friends Marc & Erin and their two little ones were coming over for a BBQ and to watch the fireworks from our backyard.  The Roc couldn’t get through dinner fast enough, he just wanted to jump with Maddie in the bouncy house.

Yes, he’s wearing a crown while jumping…don’t you?

The real fun began when the sun started to go down.  Our neighbors lit some (apparently illegal) fireworks and the bicycle cops stopped by their party to have a friendly chat with them.  (Another awesome photo opportunity missed.)  It was right about this time that Marc brought out the sparklers (and we all looked at each other asking “these are legal – right? while sneaking peeks at the cops.)  GC offered a sparkler to the Roc, and we both were surprised when he actually held it!  And waved it around!  And then put it up to the bouncy house!!!  “NO!!!!!” everyone yelled!

He didn’t quite know what to do with himself when it went out.

So we gave him another.

And the dog and I stayed far back.  Uncle Marcello even got in on the sparkler action.

As it got darker and darker I put my camera away, gave the Roc his noise canceling headphones and we all settled in our chairs to wait for the town firework display.  The bicycle cops had been gone long enough that we thought it safe to try out one of those canister firework thingys.  The kids loved it.  The last two years the Roc was way to anxious to watch the fireworks outside, so we always sat on the floor by the big windows and watched from inside the safety of the house.  This year we had talked the Roc into staying outside.  I wasn’t too worried about where we would watch them, if the Roc wanted to go inside during the show, we would.

But he didn’t!  He sat on my lap and watched the whole display!

Another image I should have (had someone) photograph.  There’s always next year.

4 thoughts on “Scenes I Should have Photographed + The 4th

  1. Heh heh, it’s probably just as well you didn’t’ photograph the whole kitchen sink installation. Your description is better! Isn’t it funny how some people (ok, fine, our husbands) can’t seem to see what’s right in front of their faces about how their kids are like them?

    Glad you had a good holiday. Especially glad the Roc didn’t blow up the bouncy house with his sparkler! Yikes.

  2. *blush* at our house, it’s the wife, not the husband with the temper…
    Glad the Roc enjoyed the fireworks outside this year! Our oldest hated them for about 8yrs, then he tolerated them for a year or two, this year he actually really enjoyed them for the first time ever…I love those moments! Maybe next year The Roc will be wanting to get closer!

Leave a Reply

