Blog Award

lemonadestandaward

I was so surprised when I opened up my email this morning to find that Tanya from Teen Autism awarded me the Lemonade award!  I am honored!  I recently found Tanya’s blog, following her back through a comment left on another blog, and as soon as I started reading, I was hooked.  Her blog is one of the few that I had to go back and read the archives.  She is a fabulous writer, the single parent of two teenage boys, one with autism, and her words always resonate with me.

The Lemonade award is bestowed upon those who have gratitude and/or a great attitude and there are some rules attached.  The fine print of this award is as follows:

– Put the Lemonade logo on your blog or within your post.
– Nominate at least 10 blogs with great attitude or gratitude.
– Link the nominees within your post.
– Let the nominees know they have received this award by commenting on their blog.
– Share the love and link to the person from whom you received this award.

My nominees for this award are as follows:

What We Need

Diary of a Mom

Autism in A Word

Good Fountain

To Sleep or Not To Sleep

Pixie Mama

Mama on the Edge

Maternal Instincts

Hoping Not Coping

Embracing Spirit

I started blogging a year ago at the suggestion of my sister.  She told me over the phone that the stories I would tell her were funny and I should blog them.  Well, I don’t consider myself to be very funny, even though I can make my sister laugh, but I started the blog anyway.  I quickly realized that it was the perfect place to record the Roc’s progress and to let our far away family and friends know what was going on with him.  It also became a place for me to let out my fears and frustrations.  My own space.  To tell this from my point of view.  And then I started to read other autism mommy bloggers (Darcy at What We Need was my first).  I quickly became hooked on reading about the lives of other people with children on the spectrum.  I frequently nod and say “me too”  while I read, sometimes I cry for the pain of someone I’ve never met, sometimes I leak tears of joy because I really understand the significance of the little steps, and sometimes I laugh out loud (or snort as I tend to do when I read Mama On The Edge).  I feel like I know these women and their children, even though we’ve never met in real life, and it gives me the feeling that I’m not alone in all of this.

So here’s to the next 10 award winners!  Pass on the love ladies!

 

12 thoughts on “Blog Award

  1. Well, gosh, thanks for the lemonade award. Kind of when life gives you lemons… thing, right? And congrats to you. I also enjoy your blog. Many of the ones you listed are the ones I frequent too. Couldn’t agree more about crying with, identifying, or cheering on these other bloggie mommies you feel like you know.

  2. Kim, congratulations. That is so very nice. You are a wonderful writer, daughter-in-law, and I enjoy reading your blog… I think you should try to meet the other Moms at a “destination” sometime and have a “reunion”. It would be awesome to meet face to face and to spend time together, even if it was for a long weekend or something? Just a thought……

  3. Congratulations on the award! I also really enjoy reading your blog and seeing the adorable pics of the Roc! I’m truly thankful for our mama blogging community. Thank you for thinking of me!

  4. well deserved .. and thank you so much for passing it my way! i am so grateful for this whole little world of ours .. the love and support fuels me through the day.

    on my ‘about’ page it says ..

    because it is a sense of community that makes the good times sweeter for the sharing and the hard times more bearable for knowing that you’re not alone

    and every day it proves to be true. thank you so much for sharing each and every bit of it!

  5. Thank you for including me in such great company! And, ironically, for the timely reminder that I’ve been letting my lemonade get a tad sour lately. Perspective; it’s so important!

  6. Pingback: Call me “Sourpuss” « Maternal Instincts

Leave a Reply

