The first day of Kindergarten

The Roc was bouncing off the walls with anxiety and excitement this morning before we headed down to the bus stop on his first day of kindergarten.  We put his personal schedule together and he couldn’t get through the steps to get out the door fast enough!  He kept repeating what he saw in the classroom last Wednesday and telling me that kindergarten is “just for friends and teachers” which was my response to his repeatedly asking me last week if “if Mommy could go to kindergarten too?”  I tried to get the obligatory first day of school pictures in front of the front door but the Roc wasn’t having it.  I then had him stand by the tree and tried to snap a picture but he wouldn’t stop moving and all I got was the back of his head.  He just wanted to get to the bus stop.  He was all smiles after being introduced to his new bus driver, the bus aide, and donning his harness.  I tried to get a picture of him with that adorable grin but again, he wouldn’t stop moving and wouldn’t look at the camera!

DSCF0001

To make up for my lack of first day of school pictures featuring the Roc, I took one of the bus driving away.  Oh well, it’s not like I don’t have gobs of photos of this kid!

DSCF0004I thought I would be sad to see him go away for the whole day but I’d already gotten a chance to experience that during summer school, so I was fine (aside from the worrying)!  I went for a run, did 3 loads of laundry, cleaned the kitchen, vacuumed, cleaned off my desk, organized my photos, (I’m prepping for some mini album creativity) and watched a movie.  Before I knew it, it was time to head to the bus stop, which turns out to be across the street so I sat on my front stoop and waited for the bus to appear.

The Roc was all smiles when I got on the bus to unzip him, and when I asked if he’d had fun during his first day of kindergarten he enthusiastically replied “YES!”  I was anxious to see if his teacher had written anything in his communication book and so I was excited to read this from her:

He did GREAT!!!!  No time out!  He listened to directions ALL DAY!!!  I am so impressed!  He loved reading “Chicka Chicka Boom Boom!”  He did very well at lunch & recess!!  Woo-hoo!!!! Have a great night!

Woo-hoo is right!  All day while I was doing stuff around the house I was wondering about him.  How was he doing?  Did he throw any tantrums?  Was he completely overwhelmed in the new building with new kids and new teachers?  Did he listen?  Or did he scream?  Did he do okay during lunch in the cafeteria?  Did he eat what I put in his lunch box or was he too overstimulated to eat?  Did he play on the playground?  Or were there “too many kids” as he would say and just sit on the sidelines?  Would he be a mess when he got home?  Would there be a terrible note in the communication book?

He was able to tell me “there were too many kids in the kitchen” and I am assuming he meant the play kitchen area in the classroom because that was one of the things he kept talking about this morning.  He also told me “some kids cried, but I didn’t” when I asked him about his classmates.  When I told him he would be going back tomorrow he said “yay!” so I am assuming he had fun.

I am relieved.  First day of kindergarten survived, by both of us.

10 thoughts on “The first day of Kindergarten

  1. Way to go Rocco! How exciting – his first day of Kindergarten! Rocco is growing up so fast!! It sounds like he had a fantastic first day. We are all so happy Rocco enjoyed it and we are so very, very proud of our wonderful Grandson. Love and huggles…..

  2. Congratulations! It sounds like you both did well on the first day of school. I pray that as each day ends with success that you’ll be able to worry less and less.

    But you won’t every stop worrying. I put mine on the bus again for the sixth “first day” of school. I worried just a tiny bit. I have two other “typical” children. I never worry about them. I just look forward to hearing about their day. One day, maybe, just maybe, I’ll be the same with my Aspie.

    How is the rest of the week going?

Leave a Reply

