Bedtime Stalling…

The Roc is perfecting the art of the bedtime stall.  The following was what happened when I tried to put him to bed on Tuesday night.  His nightly routine is to take a bath, brush teeth, get dressed, and then we read stories (3 stories has turned into 5 or 6 a night, I’m a total sucker).  This particular night he interrupted me over and over to point out something on the page.  We have been reading a set of 4 books on sad, happy, scared, and angry feelings.  He would talk over me and point to the bunny’s face, or the little stuffed animal dog the bunny always has, or the sky on the page.  When I finally finished the last book I asked him if he had to go potty one last time (this “last potty” has now been added to the nightly routine) he said yes, and this is what followed as he walked out onto the upstairs landing:

Roc:  “Mommy, can I have a glass of water?”

Me:  “Yes, Roc, I’ll go get it, you go potty.” I start down the stairs.

Roc:  “I want to wait for mommy.”

Me:  “Go potty Roc.”

Roc:  “Do you miss Mommy?” His pronoun reversal is not completely gone.

Me:  “Say I Roc.  When you talk about yourself you say I.”

Roc:  “I miss Mommy.  I want to wait for Mommy.  Here comes Mommy!” said while jumping up and down at the top of the stairs.

Me (as I come back up the stairs):  “Go potty Roc.”

Roc:  “Mommy, (taking OFF his pants to pee)  Look!  A pee-pee waterfall!”

Me:  “Yes Roc, you need to put your pants back on.  You don’t need to take them all the way off to pee.  Here’s your water.”

Roc:  “I need help.  Help me Mommy.” We put his pj pants back on.

Me:  “Drink your water Roc.” I know, he’s never going to stay dry all night if I let him drink before bed.  Like I said, I’m a sucker.

Roc:  “Rocco’s going to drink water soup!” He takes a small sip.

Me:  “Okay.”

Roc: “More.” Another small sip.

Me: “Okaaaayy.”

Roc:  “Mmmm!  I like soup.  I’m going to drink more!” He takes another small sip.

Me:  “Okay, let’s go!  It’s getting late.” We start to walk back to his bedroom.

Roc:  “It’s dark in there Mommy.  I’m scared of the dark.”

Me:  “It’s okay. You have 2 night lights and they are both on.  See?”

Roc:  “Mooommmmyyy.  I want to cuddle.”

Me:  “Mommy can’t cuddle tonight.  It’s really late.  It’s almost 9 o’clock.  I’m going to watch hockey with Daddy.”

Roc:  “I want to come down and watch too!”

Me:  “No.  It’s late.  It’s time for bed.  See?  It’s dark outside.  The street lights are on.”

Roc (tears in his voice, fake):  “Mooommmyyy.  I’m scared of the dark.”

Me:  “Remember?  You have 2 night lights and your Hortons in bed with you.  Just put your head on your pillow and close your eyes and you’ll fall asleep.” When did I start sounding like a mom?

Roc:  “Umm, Moommmmyyy??”

Me:  “Yes?”

Roc: “Ummm, Mooommmmyyy??”

Me: “Yes?”

Roc:  “Umm, Mooommmmyyy??”

Me:  “Yes?”

Roc:  “Umm.”

Me:  “Roc, it’s time for bed.” I’ve now turned off the lights and am standing in the doorway.

Roc (sounded defeated):  “Moommyy?  Door cracked?”

Me (leaving the door cracked):  “Like this?”

Roc (whispering):  “Yes.”

Me:  “Okay, Good night.”

Roc: “Good night.”

Me: “I love you.”

Roc: “I love you.”

Me: “I’ll see you in the morning.”

Roc: “See you in the morning.” I sigh and start to close the door.

Roc:  “Um, Mooommmmyyy?”

Me (exasperated):  “YES?”

Roc:  “I’m hungry.”

Me:  “Good night Roc.”

Roc:  “Good night.”
I was shaking my head when I walked down the stairs and then while watching the game I had to run and grab a piece of paper to write it all down.  I had started to think back to last year and how excited I was that he FINALLY started to answer yes/no questions and he started to have some spontaneous speech.  That this time last year, at 3.5 years old, he couldn’t have a conversation with me, and he certainly didn’t try to manipulate me.  I was tired when I left his room but when I wrote it all down I smiled, just like I’m smiling now.

One thought on “Bedtime Stalling…

  1. So cute!! Although our children may drive us nuts on nights like this it still warms your heart!!! : )
    And awesome that Rocco is communicating so well.

Leave a Reply

