Packing, not a lot of Prep

I’m escaping this weekend.

I’m skipping town with my good friend Christa, who is also a mother with a 4.5 year old son on the spectrum.  I cannot begin to explain how much I am looking forward to getting away, and how much it means to me that I’m going away with someone who understands this life, all the joy and all the pain.  In the roughly 1,670 days the Roc has been on this planet we have slept in different buildings ONE night.  That’s right.  Only ONCE.  Only one time in the last past 1,670 days have I not gone in to his room to check to make sure he’s still breathing and kiss his cheek before heading off to bed.

I need this weekend, and even though it was planned a few months ago (after I called up Christa on a Sunday morning in December hysterically crying saying I could not possibly DO THIS anymore) it couldn’t come at a better time.  The Roc has been testing my patience like no other.  Yesterday I laid down during a particularly fierce tantrum and didn’t even have the energy to cry.

I don’t use the word “need” lightly but I do know that I need this “mental health weekend.”

The Roc gets off the bus in 25 minutes and Christa is picking me up in 2.5 hours so I just started to pack for our weekend.  That may sound a little bit late, but remember, I’m only packing for ME!!  I still cannot get over how easy it is to pack for just me.  Clothes?  Check.  Shower stuff?  Check.  Book to read while I wait for my massage at the spa tomorrow?  Check.  Camera?  Check.  Munchies?  Check.

That’s it!!!

No toys, books, DVDs, paper + crayons, markers, play dough, little cars, etc. to keep a little person occupied.  No personal schedule to help with transitions.  No crazy food taking up half a suitcase.  No special stuffed animals and blankets.  No pulls and wipes (well, I do have baby wipes in my purse, who doesn’t?).  No extra set of clothing for accidents.  Etc.

And the lack of prepping!  I’ve talked to the Roc about Mommy going away for the weekend but it’s nothing compared to what I do before we go on a trip together!  I don’t have to deal with the fall-out of this change in routine anyway!!  Have fun GC!

I know I will!

(p.s.  Don’t feel to sorry for GC.  He took off work last Friday and went to Boston with two friends for the weekend.  He’s had his!  Now it’s my turn!)

6 thoughts on “Packing, not a lot of Prep

  1. “Don’t feel sorry for GC” — Puh-lease! The only reason I’d feel “sorry” for him would be if he gripes, even a little, about you leaving. I assume you’ll blog-tattle on him, and then I will hunt him down and give him an atomic wedgie.

    Enjoy this well-deserved and long-overdue respite.

  2. I didn’t feel sorry for GC for even a fraction of a second! Have no fear!

    I hope you have the most wonderful weekend off that you can imagine. Enjoy yourself and the fact that you don’t have bags full of kid-loot. 😀

    Kia

  3. So glad you were able to get away! How was it? Good for you for taking that time away too. I’m sure it’ll really help refresh you! Let me know how the weekend went.

    Isn’t it hard not knowing what kids want sometimes? It’s especially harder for a child with ASD (and his mom and other adults). I wish we could get into their minds sometimes. We should start work on that technology (we could be so rich some day!)

Leave a Reply

