Packing and Prepping

I’m once again prepping to take the Roc away for awhile.  This “vacation” is coming at a very good time.  I need to get away.  Away from the Children’s hospital appointments, away from the school meetings, away from the evaluations, away from all my Autism books, away from my computer, away from the yahoo list serve emails, away from…my mind?  I’m hoping to leave a lot of stress here at home and enjoy the sun in Arizona (but of course it’s supposed to RAIN half the time we are there!).

For the past week or so the Roc and I have been looking at the pictures from last year like these:

dscf00031

dscf0027

dscf0040

dscf0093

We’ve been talking about where we are going and who we are going to see.  We’ve also been looking at this handy picture schedule his awesome preschool teacher made for him to help us get through our rather looonnnnggg travel day.

dscf00061

We leave very early tomorrow morning and I’ve still got a lot to do so I just sat the Roc in front of his favorite movie of the moment, Horton Hears a Who, so I could pack.  Is it normal to have half your suitcase be filled with food?

dscf0007

Before I filled it with food and my purse this lovely little girl was inside:

dscf0003

The cats hate it when I leave.  She tried to lure me into taking her along until I reminded her of just who will be in Arizona:

dscf0008

I’m sure they would love to meet her…especially the one on the left.  Sascha decided against travel saying there are many things she can do right here at home:

dscf0009

I’m looking forward to seeing some cacti and of course my parents!  I’m hoping that I’ve prepared the Roc better for this trip.  We’ll see!

7 thoughts on “Packing and Prepping

  1. Have a fun and safe trip. I hope everything goes well. I love the picture schedule too. I’m happy Rocco has a teacher who is so willing to help with home schedules too!

  2. I cracked up about the food in the suitcase. I end up taking an extra suitcase of food wherever we go! I always wonder what the TSA thinks we’re doing…

    Anyway, have a great time here in our lovely state of AZ! I hope the weather warms up for you!

  3. I too pack groceries when we travel. With Little Man’s picky eating habits, I have to make sure we’ve always got stuff with us that he’ll eat. 🙂

    Am I the only one who thinks that cactus pic looks like a hand, flipping us the bird? Probably. Sorry.

    Have a great holiday!

  4. Cactus flipping us the bird? Check.

    Suitcase full of special diet food? Check. I even brought homemade frozen chicken soup, waffles, pancakes, bread, and almost 400 cookies to Disney last time we went for a week.

    Have fun in AZ.

    (Oh, I keep forgetting to tell you I love that you took my suggestion and used that beach picture as your blog’s header. I love it!)

  5. Oh, that sounds so nice and warm right now (as I’m wearing fleece and cuddled up in a blanket!). I hope you are having a great time. Enjoy the sun!

    (Cute animal pics!)

Leave a Reply

