Dentist + Doctor

The Roc went to the dentist for the first time on Wednesday morning.  The office was really accommodating and let me bring him in on Tuesday afternoon to check out the office and meet the hygienist and Dr. Scott.   The Roc was his charming self and gave high fives to all the ladies.  So on Wednesday he knew where we were going and what to expect (I had been talking about the dentist all week).  He willingly went back with his hygienist and I waited in the waiting room staring at this:

I heard a couple “ahhhs” from the Roc so I knew when she was trying to get to those back teeth!  It wasn’t long before someone came to get me and I could go back and see him in the chair.  This is what I found:

A happy Roc.  I wonder if he sat like this while they were trying to clean his teeth!  The hygienist told me that he did great and we set up his next appt.  Another milestone reached.  One more thing crossed off that I thought was impossible a year ago.

Yesterday the Roc had his 4 year physical with a brand new doctor at a family practice in town.  I left the pediatric practice he had been going to since birth.  I wasn’t impressed by the doctor that didn’t listen to me a year ago and told me “I can tell by looking at him that he doesn’t have autism.”  We lucked out and his new doctor supports our decision not to give the Roc any more vaccinations.  She spent a lot of time with us and didn’t rush (rare for doctors these days) and of course the Roc was very charming.  She said he has a lot of great skills and was impressed by his vocabulary and eye contact.  She also signed the paperwork for the Roc to start his riding lessons next Tuesday!  Stay tuned for that!

2 thoughts on “Dentist + Doctor

  1. I need to take some pointers from Rocco – Dentists are my least favorite places to visit. I always dread even having my teeth cleaned…. I hope I did not pass my fears on to my lovely boys…

Leave a Reply

