Happy/Unhappy Christmas

I wrote about our Christmas Eve, which was very relaxed and very happy.  Now for Christmas day…which was both happy and…not.  The Roc was so excited when he woke me up to tell me Santa had come, that there were presents under the tree.  I knew that he went downstairs and checked out all the gifts before coming to wake me.  I noticed the light on and heard the paper rustling long before he appeared by my side.  I laid in bed smiling, waiting for him, loving the magic Christmas can bring.  GC and I got up, took care of the animals and got some coffee before we allowed the Roc to start opening.  He was ready!  I so love that smile!

IMG_2709

Santa brought him a lot of the things he had asked for.

IMG_2717

IMG_2712

IMG_2718

and he was thrilled.  We had a nice breakfast together,

IMG_2729

but not long after the day began to unravel.  I didn’t take another picture on Christmas day until the very end, before the Roc went to bed.  I felt so bad for him and truthfully, for me too, by the end of the day.  He was done and feeling bad, and frankly so was I.  We both needed the day to be over.

IMG_2731

Here we are a few days later and all I can comfortably say is that the second half of Christmas day involved a lot of screaming.  There were some time outs, a room destroyed and put back together, and many strong emotions.  Anger and frustration along with sadness that the Roc feels so volatile, because I know it cannot feel good to lose control.  There were happy moments too, clinking glasses and saying cheers with my parents over lasagna, and knowing that they “get it.”  They love us, love the Roc unconditionally, are not bothered when things go south, for that I am so grateful.  Also, it’s always nice to hear that you are doing a good job, you are a good parent, even when you feel the opposite.

Sometimes this gig is hard.  That picture above cracks my heart.  I so deeply wish that things were easier for the Roc, and sometimes, selfishly, for me too.

Next year we will try again.

5 thoughts on “Happy/Unhappy Christmas

  1. Oh man.. “Sometimes this gig is hard.” Truer words have never been spoken. Our Christmas day went much the same as yours apparently. We had too many timeouts to count. Although, greatfully we did not enter the world of full-on melt down. Too much stimulous for my litlle one.

    Hang in there mom. I know that 2014 will be a GREAT YEAR. Have a blessed and happy new year!

  2. That picture cracks my heart, too. :( This break has been so challenging for Nik, too. The changed routine, the unexpected and new things to contend with. I imagine it’s been the same for the Roc.

    I hope the rest of the break is better now that the excitement of Christmas is over and the promise of the return to routines and predictability is on the horizon.

    Wishing you and your entire family a very Happy New Year. May 2014 be twice as joyful and half as difficult as 2013 was. Much love to you, my friend. xo

  3. Read your last post and this one back to back. That is so similar to our lives. Jay has some really great days and moments … But the screaming gets to me. It’s so hard for me not to lose my own temper. It gets in my head and under my skin and along with the screaming also comes the rude talking. I’m glad you had happy moments. Try to focus on those even while trying to figure out how to lessen the outbursts and frustration.

  4. Yes…the screaming…and the rude talking…and the volatility. It is so hard sometimes, and the holidays can intensify everything with the high expectations, and the changed routines, and wanting so much for everything to just be perfect. That when it isn’t, it really isn’t. So we pick up the pieces together when it’s all done, shellshocked and a little worse for wear, but reminding ourselves and each other that while none of us may be perfect, we still love each other desperately.

Leave a Reply

